Dialogue Among Religions, Cultures, and Civilizations?

  • post Type / Conferences
  • Date / 14 December 2006

Humanist Chaplaincy 30th Anniversary Gala Symposium – Friday 20 April and Saturday 21 April, 2007 – Harvard University – A galaxy of distinguished Humanist celebrities!

Three decades ago Tom Ferrick founded the Humanist Chaplaincy at Harvard University. Tom then led the Chaplaincy to become a permanent, endowed position at Harvard, and on April 20 and 21, 2007 there will be a celebration of 30 years of his service to Harvard and Humanism.

To honor Tom and his historic vision, Harvard will host a major Humanist symposium on the theme
“Dialogue Among Religions, Cultures, and Civilizations?” where the Humanist Chaplaincy will lay out a bold new vision for the future of Humanism at Harvard and universities across the US.

Confirmed participants include
l Salman Rushdie will receive the first annual Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Cultural Humanism. Rushdie will offer a literary reading on Friday night, and then on Saturday will address the subject of “Humanistic Islam”.
l 2002 International Humanist of the Year Amartya Sen, Harvard Lamont University Professor Emeritus and winner of the 1998 Nobel Prize in Economics, will speak on Indian Humanism. l 1999 American Humanist of the Year E.O. Wilson, Harvard Pellegrino University Professor,
member of the board of directors of the Humanist Chaplaincy at Harvard, two-time Pulitzer Prize winner hailed as “the new Darwin” by many.
l 2006 American Humanist of the Year Steven Pinker, Harvard Johnstone Family Professor of
Psychology and one of Time Magazine’s “100 Most Influential People in the World,” 2004. l 2003 American Humanist of the Year Rabbi Sherwin T. Wine, founder of the international movement of Humanistic Judaism and one of the world’s most inspiring Humanist orators.
l Professor Tu Weiming, Director of Harvard’s Yenching Institute for Chinese Studies, the world’s leading authority on Confucian Humanism, and one of the world’s most important living thinkers on Chinese philosophy.
l Ambassador John L. Loeb Jr., who will receive an award for his work leading the $10 million restoration campaign of the Touro Synagogue, to which George Washington wrote his famous letter on “to bigotry no sanction, to persecution no assistance.”
l Humanist Philanthropist Louis Appignani, founder of the Appignani Center for Bioethics at the
United Nations and the Appignani Humanist Legal Center in Washington, D.C.
l Lori Lipman Brown, Director, Secular Coalition for America, Washington D.C.
l Fred Edwords, Director of Communications, American Humanist Association
l Ambassador Carl Coon, Harvard class of 1949 and member of the American Humanist Association board of directors
l Thomas Ferrick, Humanist Chaplain Emeritus of Harvard University

For details contact
Greg M. Epstein
Humanist Chaplain of Harvard University Humanist Chaplaincy Office, Memorial Church Harvard Yard, 02138
Tel + 1 917-679-8043
E Mail [email protected] www.harvardhumanist.org

WordPress theme developer - whois: Andy White London